top of page
  • Writer's pictureLea Moreau

Sunchang Makgeolli, a drink from heaven

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

Considered as one of the iconic drink in the country, learn more about Sunchang locally produced milky drink that will make you fall in love with Korea

I've never been a huge alcohol fan, and I usually drink moderately if I have to, but Makgeolli is an exception and I have to say that the famous Korean milky drink got me addicted ! In 2019 was inaugurated Chamjuga corporation, an agricultural company producing Sunchang eco-friendly makgeolli !

In partnership with Sunchang Microbiological Industry Management Industry, Chamjuga corporation succeeded in creating a Makgeolli using eco-friendly rice and local fermented products. This project aim to introduce various traditional liquor while utilizing local agricultural products. This way, it can help the local community, preserve the traditions and raise interest from both National and International consumers.

Makgeolli has many different name, but one of them is "Nongju" for the "nonbu drink", 농부 (nongbu) meaning farmer in Korean. When working in the field, very often, farmers will be drinking Makgeolli with Kimchi and Soft Tofu. This is a kind of snack for them.

Honestly, since I moved to Korea, I’ve been tasting a lot of different kind of Makgeolli. Starting with Mudeungsan Makgeolli ! Living for 2 years in Gwangju, it was the most popular one. Then, traveling around Jeolla province, I started to realize that Makgeolli was a local « thing » and each different cities or National Park I’ve been offering their special flavored drink. Naejangsan Makgeolli, Gurye Sansuyu Pink Makgeolli, Chesnut Makgeolli, ect… I even heard there is a « Cream Cheese » makgeolli ^^


What I love in Sunchang, is that you can buy Makgeolli in different forms: The normal liquid bottle OR the power style that you can make at home ! AND THIS my dear, makes all the difference ! Because I always dreamt to produce my own Makgeolli, as well as bringing some back to France to make it try to my friends and family. But due to its fermentation, Makgeolli is really difficult to bring in your suitcase due to the atmospheric pressure. Now that I discovered that I could buy a dehydrated version of Makgeolli, and make it myself at home, I found this awesome !

So here we go, if you visit Sunchang, I definitely recommend you to try Sunchang Local Makgeolli and then, if you like it, you can always buy some to bring back to your home country :)


Thank you for reading Sunchang Blog, our team will wait for you in sunchang !

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page